What is love?

“Love is patient, love is kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand it’s own way. It is not irritable and it keeps no records of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice, but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.” – Corinthians 13v 4-7 (NLT).

 

This is my definition of love. When I was younger I was at a seminar about relationships when someone asked the burning question all of us 14 year olds wanted to know “How do you know when you have met the one? How do you know if they are marriage material?” and we were given this bible passage to help us. We were told to put them name of whoever it was we thought could be our spouse in place of the word love, and that’s how we would know if they were right for us (it’s more of a guide rather than 100% concrete evidence that they are the one!).

I found this very helpful because it made me very, very picky! When I was at school and I might like a boy, I would always use this passage to decide if they would be good boyfriend material, and not one of them met the criteria (along with the long list I had that defined the perfect boyfriend!). I used to get upset that I didn’t have a boyfriend, I felt like I was never going to have one, I was never going to meet the man of my dreams. But then one day I did. It wasn’t a defining moment, I didn’t feel the air change, I didn’t feel a spark straight away. I met someone who would one day be my best friend, and from my best friend he would become my boyfriend. After being together for quite a while I remembered back to my passage. I was a bit nervous about putting his name in the place of the word love. What if he met my own personal criteria but didn’t meet the most important one! So I started reading the passage, putting Ryan’s name in place of the word love. His name fit perfectly. I just couldn’t believe it, I felt that all my Christmas’ had come at once.

I had met THE ONE!

2 thoughts on “What is love?

Leave a Reply

