“Worrying won’t get you anywhere”

This is a quote that I often hear, and also often give to other people. It’s a lot harder to hear when you are on the receiving end of it though!

Lately all I’ve been doing is worrying! Mainly about money if I’m honest. Don’t get me wrong, me and Ryan never struggle to the point where we have to live off of toast and beans for weeks on end but I do sometimes think ‘how on earth are we going to afford this?!’. This month has been a tough one for money, my car was due a service and MOT (it’s passed thankfully!), both our car insurance was due and Ryans birthday is next week and then our wedding anniversary is at the end of the month. It has just been a very overwhelming month, and so many times I have thought about how rubbish it is to be an adult! So many bills and expenses you need to think about, you can’t just go out shopping without looking at your account and know there will be enough money in there. You have to plan and budget a lot more, and I’ve just been feeling so fed up with it all if I’m honest!

Ryan really has been my rock in the last few weeks, I often get tearful when talking about the finances and thinking that I’m never going to have caught up with money but constantly feeling like I’m in the rat race. But, through it all Ryan has reminded me that God will provide, he will see us through, he wouldn’t let us get swallowed up in debt and despair. Normally it would be me clinging onto this knowledge in hope that God will provide but I have found it so hard to believe this month.

However, after checking the bank account today, I was thoroughly shocked to see it in a positive instead of the negative I was expecting (considering all we have had to pay out for the cars this month). A payment had come in that we weren’t expecting and it has just taken the pressure off massively! Of course my loving father wouldn’t let me down! It was such a lovely sign of all the good he has done and will continue to do in my life. Even if it’s at the last minute, God is always there to rescue us and suffice our needs. 

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[a]? -Matthew 6 V 25-27

2 thoughts on ““Worrying won’t get you anywhere”

  1. Financial worries are so tough. I had a nervous breakdown at the end of 2013 because of a financial crisis and because my ex-boyfriend, who I was still involved with was having a baby with someone else. Because of the breakdown I ended up in bed for 3 months and having almost no income for a year. It was terrible. But I firmly believe I was meant to have that breakdown. Because of it I was put on medication that massively helped my mental health problems and also tackled the Post Traumatic Stress Disorder that had made my whole 11 year recovery from drugs and alcohol incredibly traumatic. I have also now got a lovely long term tenant who I am incredibly happy with. I am not sure whether I believe in God as I’m having a bit of a crisis of faith but there has been a Plan in my recovery and I have been looked after.

    Like

Leave a Reply

