Get up and go!

This is something I have been seriously lacking in, in the last 2 months or so. I’m not sure if my pregnancy is to blame, but I definitely think it’s a factor. For me, so far, pregnancy has been tiring and to be perfectly honest, bugging me at times. I wasn’t feeling myself, I get extra aggy for no reason, and I’m just tired, all the time! But it isn’t a lack of sleep type of tired, it’s an unmotivated, do I really have to put my dirty washing in the laundry basket? Kind of tired. I think it’s really been bugging Ryan if I’m honest. Now let me tell you, he has been so good during my pregnancy, even though I have been grumpy, and angry and sometimes shouting ‘you don’t understand what this is like!’. he has been very understanding, I’ve just been a cantankerous old witch. I am so very grateful for him. He has done most of the cooking, most of the cleaning, and just putting up with me in genera is a task in itself (pregnant or not!).

I am starting to feel a bit better now, but I think that’s because I am making a choice (sort of, you’ll see what I mean). Making a choice to get up out of bed on my days off (yes okay I didn’t get out of my bed till 10am today, but I’m telling you, I could have so easily stayed in it till 12! The way I am coping is making a choice, to not give myself a choice, if that makes any sense?! So many times we tell ourselves we can’t do things, or we don’t want to do things, but really, it’s mind over matter. If you just get up and do the thing you know you’ve got to do, and just cut out the argument you’re having with yourself in your head (like the angel on one shoulder and the devil on the other), you’ll actually find yourself; 1. Doing more stuff and, 2. feeling a lot better. I think that has a lot to do with our mental stability, and happiness, not giving ourselves the choice, because 9 times out of 10 we will be arguing with our selves about should we get out of bed, when we know full well we will be getting up at some point during the day, so why not just do it straight away and save yourself from going round and round in your head with your pesky shoulder friends?

Give it a try, you’ll probably surprise yourself with how much better you feel!

Leave a Reply

