#MumLife: I have no idea what I’m doing!

So Aria is 6 weeks old now, and let me tell you. I have learnt quite a bit in the last few weeks! The biggest thing I have learnt though, is that I have literally no idea what I am doing!

Okay, that’s a bit of an over exaggeration. I know the basics. Make sure she’s fed, make sure she has a clean nappy on, make sure to clean her and bathe her, make sure she is happy, and make sure she is stimulated. But with all of that there come so many questions! In the last few weeks I have googled more than I have ever googled before- and I am a massive google lover so you can imagine how much data I must be using on my phone!

The problem with google though, is that there are so many different answers to the same question, and that poses a big problem… which answer is the right one? As a first time mum I am literally going in blind. Yes we went to our antenatal classes and learnt a fair bit, but there is so much that isn’t covered in those classes that I really think their should be!

So many people always say to ‘check with your midwife’ or ‘Ask the health visitor next time you see her’. Well I’ve done that, but what do I do when I’ve asked the same question but been given 2 very different answers?

So many people say how good it is that there is so much available online now, but in all honesty, I think that makes it so much harder, because there is so much conflicting information on there! However, like I’ve been told time and time again,  for a lot of things its just finding out what works best for you and your baby. What works for one may not work for another. What I’m learning, is that there is no hard and fast rule to solve any qualms a baby may have. Some days Aria likes being sat up to be winded, some days she likes to be laying down. It’s all trial and error!

Slowly but surely I do feel like I am getting the hang of this motherhood malarkey, but lets see if i’m still saying that when I face the next lot of obstacles!

Leave a Reply

