Must stay motivated!

So the first month of 2016 is nearly over and what have I accomplished? At first thought I would say pretty much nothing, but after taking the time to think about it I’ve thought of a couple of things…

I didn’t start this year with the whole “new year, new me” nonsense because no one ever seems to stick to this sorts of things and I didn’t want to set New Years resolutions as such but I did want to do something with this year so here is my list:

  1. Get closer to God
  2. Have a better control over the household finances
  3. Be happier
  4. Be bold

The one I would say I am doing best with is getting closer to God. Now some people might think oh that’s easy, you’re a Christian! When in actual fact it can actually be really hard! I am part of a world that pretty much has the attitude of ‘rules were made to be broken’ and ‘I don’t want to conform to the norm’ so in actual fact I am almost daily battling against the tide to live my life. A lot of people may think some of my morals and beliefs are outdated, which makes it even harder! Especially when there seems to be a hunger within society for people wanting to be accepted.

I too, want to be accepted like most people, but the difference is I am not willing to change myself as a person to gain that acceptance. Instead I surround myself with Christian people so when times come, I feel strong enough in my faith to be ‘the odd one out’, to have a different opinion, to be someone who is different.

I used to think being different meant I was weird and people wouldn’t talk to me, but I have actually found it to be the complete opposite. The more different I am to the society norms, the more people want to talk to me, the more questions I am asked, and the lore opportunities I have to talk about my faith to people!

So for all you Christians out there, don’t be afraid to be different to society, be excited and do it with pride! It really is one of the best ways to be a good witness and share the love of Jesus!
Mrs Legg

Leave a comment